Board of Education honors winter season scholar athletes

The Pine Bush Board of Education honored its winter season varsity scholar athletes at the March 26 board of education meeting. These students maintained a grade point average of 90 or higher during the season. In addition the board acknowledged Section IX champions and state qualifiers.

A high school girl with long dark hair dressed in a plaid shirt shakes hands with a board member in a blue shirt

There were also four scholar athlete teams, where at least 75 percent of the team members maintained a 90 grade point average or higher: girls’ basketball, cheerleading, girls’ track and field, and boys’ swimming and diving.


Varsity Boys Basketball
Coach: Steve Distefano

  • Christopher Cain
  • Elijah Johnson

Varsity Girls Basketball: Scholar Athlete Team Award
Coach: Michelle Bouffard

  • Antonia Adipietro
  • Isabella Colon
  • Elizabeth Deckaj
  • Becky Drumm
  • Serina Garmendiz
  • Taylor Pannell
  • Mahalla Snowden
  • Shayla Wise

Varsity Boys Wrestling
Coach: Rich Ormsby

  • Devin Greer
  • Lukas Pennell
  • Kevin Urena

Additional Qualifier:

  • Thomas Askey – Section IX Champion, State Qualifier*

A male high school athlete smiles while shaking hands with the assistant superintendent.

Varsity Cheerleading: Scholar Athlete Team Award
Coach: Dayna Dwyer

  • Carolann Adipietro
  • Abigail Caldwell
  • Alaina Edwards
  • Hailey Filipkowski
  • Madison Jasko


Varsity Boys Indoor Track and Field
Coach: Al Schmidt, Assisted by: Anthony DiMarco and Joe Parise             

  • Elijah Acero
  • Dennis Ahmetaj
  • Finian Brown
  • Charlie Byrd
  • Justin Ceiley
  • Kiyan Hocek
  • Andrew Maloy
  • Ryan McNamara
  • Christian Morgan
  • John Parsells
  • Alan Soto
  • Griffin VonDeben
  • Colby Zupetz

Additional Qualifier:

  • Jaelin Edwards – State Qualifier*            

a young woman in blue jacket shakes hands with a blonde woman with stage in the background.

Varsity Girls Indoor Track and Field: Scholar Athlete Team Award
Coach: Gerald Risco, Assisted by: Melissa Schueler and Rebecca Torre  

  • Yasmin Aguilar
  • Alyssa Biondi
  • Kymorah Boddie
  • Helen Deretchin
  • Amy DeSena
  • Ciara Ferguson
  • Susan Fernandez
  • Skye Hall
  • Alexis Haskin
  • Meghan Herbert
  • Kailee Loiodice
  • Paige Loiodice – State Qualifier*
  • Danielle Lovelace – OCIAA Champion, State Qualifier*
  • Michaila Maggiolo
  • Mary Regelski
  • Brooke Reynolds
  • Gabrielle Rodriguez
  • Wylaimee Shalders
  • Melissa Squillante

Additional Qualifier:

  • AnJalyna Talmadge – OCIAA Champion, Section IX Champion, State Qualifier*

Board member in red blouse and black jacket smiles and shakes hands with male student athlete dressed in button-down shirt and jacket.

Varsity Boys Swimming and Diving: Scholar Athlete Team Award
Coach: Kevin Blackwell, Assisted by John Barth and Chris Blackwell         

  • Ian Barth
  • Alexander Docu
  • Andrew Donaldson, Jr.
  • Michael Doti
  • Jack Gandolfini
  • Colin Lang – Section IX Champion, State Qualifier*
  • Daniel Mondelli
  • Jonathan Shaw
  • Matthew Slovitsky
  • Andrew Weronick

Additional Qualifier:

  • Aidan Kane – State Qualifier*
Pine Bush Central School District
State Route 302, Pine Bush, NY 12566
Phone: (845) 744-2031
Fax: (845) 744-6189
Tim O. Mains
Superintendent of Schools
This website is maintained by Public Information Specialist Linda Smith. It is the goal of the Pine Bush Central School District that this website is accessible to all users. View our accessibility statement. The district is not responsible for facts or opinions contained on any linked site. Some links and features on this site require the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view. Visit the Adobe website to download the free Acrobat Reader. This website was produced by the Capital Region BOCES Communications Service, Albany, NY. Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved.